The HALT Consortium

Aston University, United Kingdom

Aston University is a public university in the centre of Birmingham, United Kingdom. Aston university’s strengths include Business and Management, General Engineering, Subjects Allied to Medicine (Optometry, Biology, Pharmacy and Psychology), Languages and European Studies.

It is home to Aston Institiute of Photonic Technologies (AIPT).

CNRS / Université de Nice Sophia Antipolis, France

The University of Nice Sophia Antipolis  is a university located in Nice, France and neighbouring areas. It was founded in 1965 and is organized in eight faculties, two autonomous institutes and an engineering school.

Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel

The Weizmann Institute of Science is a public research university in Rehovot, Israel, established in 1934, 14 years before the State of Israel. 

It is a multidisciplinary research center, with around 3,800 scientists, postdoctoral fellows, Ph.D. and M.Sc. students, and scientific, technical, and administrative staff working at the Institute.

Novosibirsk State University, Russia

Novosibirsk State University (NSU) is one of Russia’s leading institutions of higher-education. It is located in Novosibirsk, a cultural and industrial centre in Siberia. NSU has an important profile as the producer of much of Russia’s academic elite.

NSU’s principal areas of teaching and research include, but are not limited to elementary particle physics, photonics and quantum optics, Arctic research, biomedicine and cancer therapy, chemical engineering, low-dimensional hybrid materials, omic technologies, mathematics, archaeology and ethnography, and linguistics among other disciplines.

NSU is home to the Aston-Novosibirsk State University International Centre for Photonics, whose main objective  is to develop a physical platform aimed at the application of advanced knowledge in laser technologies, in long-distance communication and in medical sensing devices technologies.

Information Technologies, Mechanics and Optics University, Russia

ITMO University is a large state university in Saint Petersburg and is one of Russia’s National Research Universities. Research priorities of ITMO University are concentrated in information and photonic technologies

Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China

The Huazhong University of Science and Technology (HUST) is a public research university located in Guanshan Subdistrict, Hongshan District, Wuhan, Hubei province, China. HUST manages Wuhan National Laboratories for Opto-electronics (WNLO), which is one of the five national laboratories in China.

Universidad de São Paulo, Brazil

The University of São Paulo (USP) is a public university in the Brazilian state of São Paulo. It is the largest Brazilian public university and the country’s most prestigious educational institution, the best university in Ibero-America, and holds a high reputation among world universities, being ranked 100 worldwide in reputation by the Times Higher Education World University Rankings.

Riken, Japan

Riken  is a large scientific research institute in Japan. Founded in 1917, it now has about 3,000 scientists on seven campuses across Japan, including the main site at Wakō, Saitama Prefecture, just outside Tokyo.

Riken conducts research in many areas of science, including physics, chemistry, biology, genomics, medical science, engineering, high-performance computing and computational science, and ranging from basic research to practical applications with 485 partners worldwide

University of Auckland, New Zealand

The University of Auckland was formally opened on 23 May 1883 as Auckland University College, part of the University of New Zealand. A disused courthouse and jail served as premises for the 95 students and four teaching staff. Today, the University of Auckland is the largest university in New Zealand, hosting over 40,000 students on five Auckland campuses.